Flowering now

Hoya compacta – or Indian rope hoya – is better known for its curious curling leaf habit than its flowers, but they are pretty too. I’m finding hoya to be pretty easy care while being reliable in their flowering. Photo: Sandra Simpson

Hard at work – a frond on my son’s sundew rolls up around a fly, with other insects caught on the fronds behind. Photo: Sandra Simpson

Beautiful stamens full of pollen but don’t brush against them – it’s almost impossible to get the pollen stain out! My Oriental lily this year is full of flowers, plus a plantlet at the base is flowering too. Photo: Sandra Simpson

The summer garden is starting to feel the dry weather but while some things wilt, other flourish and there are still plenty of flowers.

Our monarch butterfly raising programme has been terrible this year – even with a swan plant covered to keep eggs and caterpillars safe from predators. We let three butterflies go in two days and have another chrysalis waiting and one fat caterpillar. That’s almost two months’ worth of trying.

I’m glad there are experienced people on the case.

5 thoughts on “Flowering now

  1. Thanks for the informative blog..I stumbled upon this while searching for Monarch butterflies, as my daughter living in NZ has just bought some swan plants and is so excited to see those caterpillars growing.

    We live on the other side of the world in UAE and I blog about my travels.

    • Hello Veena, thanks for commenting. Many years ago I lived in Qatar and made several visits to the UAE. My most recent visit was to Dubai but back in 2000. I daresay it’s changed even more since then. I hope your daughter has more luck with her caterpillars than I’m having with mine; and I’ll make a point of dropping by your blog.

  2. Hello, very nice blog. I was looking for info on iris and got more than I bargained for when I clicked on your blog. Isn’t the hoya also called wax flower or wax plant? A neighbor gave me one eons ago but it passed from the scene eventually. I’ve never been able to find another. Do you know if they can be purchased online anywhere?

    • Sorry for the delay in replying Anna, but I’ve had a few days away and have been catching up ever since!
      You should be able to source a hoya fairly easily – H. carnosa is the most common type. Be warned though, that if you’re growing them inside the flowers drip a sticky “honeydew”. Vermont Hoyas is a great website, full of beautiful photos. Not your end of the US I know, but at least you’re in the same country and Doug may be able to advise on where to get, or even supply, plants.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

