Postcard from Wellington

Just back from Wellywood where the temperatures are decidely lagging behind Tauranga. Stayed with friends in Northland – they’re close to the CBD but the house is surrounded by silence and from my bedroom window all I could see was bush-clad hills.

The capital has interesting street plantings, not least of which is this one in Mercer St. Chatham Island forget-me-nots (Myosotidium hortensia) are flowering in these beds which are also planted with clivia and rhododendrons and under deciduous trees. They can be tricky plants to grow so hats off to Wellington City Council.

Apparently there’s a WCC policy of bringing unusual native plants to the attention of residents by using them, where possible, in public plantings.

Also paid a visit to Otari-Wilton’s Bush, but more about that later – I mention it now because there I saw the white-flowered Myosotidium hortensia. The white may be botanically interesting but I much prefer the blue. There was also a pinky-mauve flower but I wasn’t sure if that was natural or was fading caused by sunlight.

White-flowered Chatham Island forget-me-not.

Last month there was a forget-me-not festival on the Chatham Islands to celebrate the flowering of these beautiful and very special plants.

Leave a Reply

