What’s flowering now

A few photos taken in my garden today …

I bought a packet of cornflower seedlings from a local supermarket but when I opened the newspaper roll the tops had rotted off the roots. The name tag with them said Awapuni Nurseries (Palmerston North) guaranteed their product. So I phoned the 0800 number and received a voucher for some more seedlings. Great customer service.

A member of the Tigridia family, native to Mexico, also known as jockey cap or peacock flower. The gorgeous flowers last only a day but they open progressively all over the plant, which has tall, strappy leaves, so make quite a show. I find that it seeds quite easily.

Hydrangea quercifolia or the oakleaf hydrangea makes a nice show. Now that I know it flowers on old wood I’m a bit more restrained with pruning! The flowers ‘antique’ nicely on the bush and the leaves change to a deep wine colour in autumn before falling.

I fell in love with the colour of this hydrangea. “Once the flowers have finished,” the tag said, ” either dispose of the plant or cut back and plant in the garden.” It is named only as ‘Indoor Hydrangea’ and is, apparently, living decor. I have had it in the garden for 2 years, although this is the first year since coming out of its pot that it has flowered properly.

Leave a Reply

